Get spiritually charged by balancing your chakras

Balancing your chakras can make a phenomenal difference to your health

Ever wondered why you suddenly cannot express your thoughts and opinions? Or you may have been feeling grounded lately? You may even feel that everything seems to work fine in every area of your life, but you feel fatigued, agitated, or sad or perhaps have aches and pains in the body. If you answered yes to any one of the above questions, then probably your chakras are imbalanced.

Our human body is a miniature cosmos of empty space with vibrating atoms of energy and the pulsating energy points of our human body called Chakras. Chakra, in Sanskrit, means “wheel” and our body has seven chakras that spin constantly transmitting and receiving energy in the form of electromagnetic radiation.

These chakras are not made of matter, they exist in the consciousness and cannot be seen or touched. They interact with the energetic body through the nervous system and endocrine system. Each of the seven chakras has spiritual, energetic, mental, emotional and physical features. When they are moving in a clockwise direction, they are constantly regulating our physical, emotional, and spiritual balance.

What happens when the chakra is out of balance or deficient?
When there is an imbalance in the energy centre, that is if it is underactive, it will not receive enough energy causing a deficit in the energy flow leading you to feel lonely, resentful, passive, introverted, timid, and indecisive. When it is overactive, and there is too much energy flow, it will overpower the personality of the person and lead him to feel overemotional, aggressive, ungrounded, and overly talkative.

Additionally, when there is a blockage in these energy centres, you may feel physical symptoms like sore throat, fatigue, heartburn, cold and flu.

Where are the chakras located?
The chakras are located near a hormonal gland along the spinal column and control the hormone system and internal organs of the body. The chakras absorb the vital energy called Chi or Prana and circulate it throughout our body through the nervous system and bloodstream.

And each chakra is associated with one colour of the rainbow. The chakras are located along our spine as follows.

  • The 7th Chakra is the Crown Chakra, located two inches above your head. The colour that correlates with this chakra is violet or white.
  • The 6th Chakra is the Third Eye or Brow chakra, located between your eyebrows. The colour associated with this chakra is indigo.
  • The 5th Chakra is the Throat Chakra, located at the bottom of your neck. The colour that relates to this is Blue.
  • The 4th Chakra is the Heart Chakra, located between the chest or it’s at the center of your chest. The colour associated is Green.
  • The 3rd Chakra is the Solar Plexus Chakra, located two inches above your navel. The colour associated with this chakra is Golden or Yellow.
  • The 2nd Chakra is the Sacral Chakra, located two inches below your navel with the Orange colour correlating to it.
  • The 1st Chakra is the Base or Root Chakra, located at the bottom of your spine and the colour that correlated with this chakra is Black or Red.
Location of main seven yoga chakras on the human body. The basic energy centres are shown in the illustration
Following are some of the techniques you can use to balance chakras:

Chakra balancing with breathwork
Simply breathe deeply, inhale deeply from your nose and feel the air moving to each of your chakras and balancing them. Exhale from your mouth.

Chakra balancing with colours
You can balance chakras by wearing clothes in colors that resonate with each chakra. You may want to wear something in green when you have to meet your family members just to keep your heart chakra balanced and receptive to love. Similarly, if you are feeling underconfident and have a job interview lined up, you may want to wear clothes in yellow.

Chakra balancing with crystals
Crystals are stones that emit certain vibrations.  Using crystals, the light and energy spectra associated with the chakras can be altered. Pick crystals that match the colors of the chakras and keep them on chakras a few moments to clear and balance them.

Chakra balancing with essential oils
Here, the application of essential oils on the chakra will help calm down the overactive chakras or active or energize the underactive ones. Some of the calming essential oils are lavender, patchouli, or neroli. To awaken sluggish chakras, some of the recommended oils are cardamom essential oil, nutmeg or yin yang. The combination of calming and energizing oils will keep them balanced.

Chakra balancing with visualization
It is one of the easiest ways to balance chakras. For this, sit comfortably and close your eyes. Imagine or visualize energy coming from the mother earth and reaching your first Chakra – Root Chakra and helping it move in a clockwise direction. You can imagine a fan or wheel located on each of the points as mentioned above and imagine the colour associated with each chakra moving in a clockwise direction. Then, imagine balancing each of them by setting them at a speed that feels right to you.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here